IDA Doc Series Goes Online!

At this time every year, the International Documentary Association (IDA) curates a series of incredible documentaries for its members and patrons. As well as screening these films, IDA also hosts fascinating Q&A events with filmmakers. 

 

This year, IDA’s Documentary Screening Series is going online. A total of 35 documentaries will be screened via the Association’s virtual cinema from October to January. The list of films is really impressive (see below).

 

The docs will be available on-demand for IDA members. Each screening will have a seven-day unlock period prior to the Q&A date. Once unlocked, members will have 24 hours to watch the film.

 

Post-film conversation live streams with creators and subjects are open to the public for free - members and non-members alike.

 

The IDA Screening Series features 16 projects by BIPOC filmmakers, 20 by women-identified filmmakers and 11 by international filmmakers. The documentaries include a mix of stories, from the history of voter suppression in the US to the disappearance of a Chinese student from her university campus. 

 

IDA - Screening Series Q&A Line-Up

No spoilers, but I love this list of documentaries.

 

I have been lucky enough to see some of these films already and, at the time of writing (I plan to watch Dick Johnson Is Dead and I Am Greta very soon), I would wholeheartedly recommend The Fight, Disclosure, Athlete A, John Lewis: Good Trouble,  All In: The Fight For Democracy, The Painter and the Thief, Crip Camp, On The Record, Be Water, Welcome to Chechnya and Coded Bias (just click the links below to read my reviews).

 

Meanwhile, I am so looking forward to watching Finding Yingying, Time, Stray, The Reason I Jump, Boys State, The Truffle Hunters and The Mole Agent. In short, I am excited to watch / rewatch all of these films!

 

Thursday, October 8, 2020 - Time (Director: Garrett Bradley)

 

Monday, October 12, 2020 - The Fight (Directors: Elyse Steinberg, Josh Kriegman, Eli B. Despres)

 

Tuesday, October 13, 2020 - Boys State (Directors Amanda McBaine, Jesse Moss)

 

Wednesday, October 14, 2020 - Disclosure (Director: Sam Feder)

 

Monday, October 19, 2020 - The Truffle Hunters (Directors: Gregory Kershaw, Michael Dweck)

 

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 - The Dissident (Director: Bryan Fogel)

 

Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - Collective (Director: Alexander Nanau)

 

Friday, October 23, 2020 - Dick Johnson Is Dead (Director: Kirsten Johnson)

 

Monday, October 26, 2020 - Athlete A (Directors: Bonni Cohen, Jon Shenk)

 

Tuesday, October 27, 2020 - John Lewis: Good Trouble (Director: Dawn Porter)

 

Wednesday, October 28, 2020 - All In: The Fight For Democracy (Directors: Liz Garbus, Lisa Cortés)

 

Thursday, October 29, 2020 - The Painter & The Thief (Director: Benjamin Ree)

 

Thursday, November 5, 2020 - Crip Camp (Directors: James Lebrecht, Nicole Newnham)

 

Tuesday, November 10, 2020 - On The Record (Directors: Amy Ziering, Kirby Dick)

 

Thursday, November 12, 2020 - Stray (Director: Elizabeth Lo)

 

Friday, November 13, 2020 - Unapologetic (Director: Ashley O'Shay)

 

Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - The Reason I Jump (Director: Jerry Rothwell)

 

Thursday, November 19, 2020 - Finding Yingying (Director: Jiayan Jenny Shi)

 

Monday, November 30, 2020 - Belly of the Beast (Director: Erika Cohn)

 

Tuesday, December 1, 2020 -  The Mole Agent (Director: Maite Alberdi)

 

Wednesday, December 2, 2020 - Be Water (Director Bao Nguyen)

 

Thursday, December 3, 2020 - A Thousand Cuts (Director: Ramona S. Diaz)

 

Monday, January 11, 2021 - Softie (Director: Sam Soko)

 

Tuesday, January 12, 2021 - I Am Greta (Director: Nathan Grossman)

 

Wednesday, January 13, 2021 - Welcome to Chechnya (Director: David France) 

 

Tuesday, January 19, 2021 - Through the Night (Director/Producer: Loira Limbal) 

 

Wednesday, January 20, 2021 - Gunda (Director: Victor Kossakovsky) 

 

Thursday, January 21, 2021 - Our Time Machine (Directors: Yang Sun, S. Leo Chiang, Shuang Liang)

 

Monday, January 25, 2021 - Coded Bias (Director: Shalini Kantayya)

 

Thursday, January 28, 2021 - Landfall (Director: Cecilia Aldarondo)

 

Over To You...

What do you think of this documentary screening series? Do let me know!

 

Are you an IDA member?

 

I have an Associate membership. This has a number of benefits including a subscription to IDA’s quarterly print publication, Documentary magazine, access to Doc U Online seminar videos, access to and listing in IDA’s online Member Directory, invitation to IDA member-exclusive digital screenings and - best of all - online access to stream 20 documentaries online and vote for Best Feature and Best Short in the IDA Documentary Awards.

 

Click here for all the details you need if you fancy joining!

SUBSCRIBE!

Seriously, don't miss out... subscribe today! Just click here :)


Film Search


Contact

Jane Douglas-Jones
Jane Douglas-Jones

E: jane@500daysoffilm.com


Disclaimer:

This site contains my own

thoughts and opinions on

films. Other opinions are

available but may not be correct.